Fuschias!

Wow, I thought peonies were pretty great until I checked out the new varieties of fuschias

at my local lawn and garden center.  These shade plants are so pretty up close that each bloom is a work of art.  They look like cupcakes with a swirl of thick frosting made by a master chef.  No, I didn’t taste them, but it’s tempting.  The blooms in the photo below had fallen off my plants while in transport from the nursery and I couldn’t bear to throw them away.  I tucked them in a little glass and they’re still perfect a week later…

fuschias float!

So I bought more….

And now that I’m besotted with them, you should be too.  Here’s more info:

Fuschias like a bit of sun, preferably in the morning, but don’t put them in hot afternoon sun.  Watering is very important-but do not drown them.  Fuschias will revive if wilting and then watered, but not if they are consistently overwatered, so wait until the soil feels dry before dousing.

They will also overwinter if brought inside, but I haven’t tried it yet.

About Kerry VerMeulen

I am co-owner of Plumstone,and a graduate of Purdue University's Ag Dept. where I studied Natural Resources and Environmental Sciences. Go Boilers!
This entry was posted in beautiful gardens and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment