Vegetable Gardening in the Flower Bed-Oh My!

OK, so my yard is relatively limited, with vast acres of sunny fields just not at my disposal. Does one need to have a “vegetable” garden that is separate from the “regular” garden? Just because these two have been separated by necessity and an abundance of space in days gone by doesn’t mean you can’t successfully mix the two in your border or perennial garden. Or throw a few flowers into what you call the vegetable garden. Herbs have already made the transition, but it seems that the “real veggies” like tomatoes, peppers, cucumbers, etc are reserved for their own area far from the daisies. I think this summer I’m going to mix it up and try to pop a few veggies in with my favorite flowers, which is where I already have the best sunlight and soil conditions.
Tell me what you think or send a photo if you’ve already done it before.

About Kerry VerMeulen

I am co-owner of Plumstone,and a graduate of Purdue University's Ag Dept. where I studied Natural Resources and Environmental Sciences. Go Boilers!
This entry was posted in beautiful gardens, Vegetable Gardening and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment