Primroses

Way more than what you see at the grocery store, these baddies can hang in there for years popping up just when you need a harbinger of spring.  Unfortunately, of all the primroses I stuck in the ground after they stopped blooming inside, the only one I truly hate has managed to thrive.  It’s a ghastly combination of strident red with a little parakeet yellow just in case the strident red was overlooked.

Yikes-do I give it space for sheet survival instinct or rip it out?  Wait to advise me until you’ve seen for yourself.  I will post a photo once it pops out of the soil.  Just don’t hold your breath-I live in Michigan so it could be a while before it’s seen.

About Kerry VerMeulen

I am co-owner of Plumstone,and a graduate of Purdue University's Ag Dept. where I studied Natural Resources and Environmental Sciences. Go Boilers!
This entry was posted in beautiful gardens and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Primroses

  1. Jean Thyng says:

    I planted several primroses in my raised garden in a sunny spot and they have bloomed even in November (I live in southern Maine) the yellow are the strongest and continue to come up every spring. No luck with the other colors but last week I noticed a dark blue blossom from one where all the others are yellow and also in bloom. This is November!!! they were supposed to be an annual and are about 6 yrs old now. I am thrilled to see them every year. Jean Thyng
    e mail address lobster1207@gmail.com

    • That is exciting. Even in Michigan we’re desperate for color this time of year, when everything is dying. I’ll have to replant some primroses this year because the one of mine that persisted was the wrong color for my garden,so I yanked it. Now I have a little gardener’s guilt!

Leave a comment